APLawrence.com -  Resources for Unix and Linux Systems, Bloggers and the self-employed


Firefox 3.5 out soon

If it were not for extensions, I wouldn't use Firefox. I try to remember to use Safari for Gmail; that eliminates a lot of trouble. If I forget and do load Gmail in Firefox, it often hangs. With the new JavaScript, it doesn't crash the rest of Firefox, but you do have to wait (and wait... and wait) until Gmail either loads or Firefox gives up. Safari never has such problems.



Title Last Comment
Logitech Circle Camera  
- Logitech Circle Camera is a simple home camera that watches all day long and saves interesting clips. -

I am disappointed by the new Apple TV  
- I am disappointed by the new Apple TV -

IOS 9 on my aging iPad 2  
- I hesitated to install IOS 9 on my aging iPad 2, but I really wanted to see Apple news -

Apple News Publisher in IOS 9 Beta 2  
- I'm enjoying Apple News in IOS 9 Beta 2 and think it may well become my favorite when IOS 9 is officially released. -

Amazon Echo SDK  
- Amazon Echo now has a SDK - develop your own functions for private or public use -

Take Control of Security for Mac Users  
- Most security books are too technical for the average reader. Take Control of Security is not - learn how to protect yourself with this new book by Joe Kissel. -

Take Control of the Mac Command Line with Terminal  
- Old-timers like me couldn't avoid being exposed to command line interfaces - that's all we had when we started Younger people and people who simply started using computers a bit later weren't necessarily exposed to any command line. Any computer they ever used had a graphical user interface and while it still may have had a command line available, there was seldom any incentive to use it. That apparent lack of any compelling reason remains true, but in fact understanding the command line can give you much more control over your computer and allow you to accomplish some tasks much more quickly and easily. -

Take Control of Numbers  
- Apple's Numbers spreadsheet has more power than you may realize. This is no toy; learn it inside and out with this Take Control eBook -

Take Control of Apple Mail, Second Edition  
- As is usual with these Take Control books, the author points out the bugs and missing features and often has suggestions for workarounds. It won't bore you with basic tasks that you either know how to do already or can figure out easily; this covers the problems and less than obvious things. -

Photos for Mac: A Take Control Crash Course  
- This 30-page ebook helps you decide whether to transition to Photos right away, walks you through importing your iPhoto and Aperture photo libraries, and helps you understand the Photos interface and organize your images. -

Amazon Echo   2015/02/07 TonyLawrence
- Amazon Echo has become my new best friend, especially in the early morning when I get my weather, news updates and then start exercising to music. -

Inbox by Google  
- I've used Google Inbox for a week and still can't decide if I like it or not -

Wireshark 101   2013/05/27 TonyLawrence
- Silly me. I really should have started using Wireshark long before this! -

Book Review - Michal Zalewski's 'The Tangled Web'   2011/11/12 TonyLawrence
- We will not have ventured very far into the Internet forest before we realize that our 'crack team' of web browsers is anything but. Most of them can't seem to tell a squirrel from a poisonous snake. When they do decide to point their weapons at something threatening, we had better duck ourselves, because their aim is atrociously bad. Suspicious looking miscreants appear at the edges of our trail and beckon us to follow them into the dark woods; our guides lay down their weapons and, with beaming grins, trot off never to be seen again! -

Ucertify Review   2014/02/12 BrookA
- Whether certifications have any value is an entirely different question. I would suggest that you NOT bother with certification unless you are planning to apply for a specific job that requires it or if you are just starting out and have no experience to brag about. Many people like myself look upon certifications as having little real value - it's 'book knowledge' that doesn't necessarily translate into real skills. However, some employment opportunities may require these as an indication that you have at least basic knowledge. So let's just leave that argument for another day. The rest of this article assumes that certification has value for you. -

Brother MFC-J615W printer  
- I have never been a fan of inkjet printers. In fact. my general advice has been not to buy them because hey are far more expensive to operate than laser printer. These multifunction things have even more to dislike: if you lose part of the functionality, you are going to lose it all while it is out for repair. -

123D Sculpt from Autodesk - cool!  
- This is a 3D drawing app. More to the point, it's a 3D drawing app for people like me who have no artistic talent at all. It makes every other drawing/sketching tool I have look really, really lame. -

TinyTERM ITX for Mac  
- TinyTERM ITX for Mac OS X is somewhat disappointing - the emulation is fine, but it is a poor Mac app. -

Sophos free anti-virus for Mac   2011/05/23 TonyLawrence
- Although the main threat to Macs is trojans and malware, not viruses, the common man doesn't distinguish these - they are all the same to most folks. -

 
 











 
 
Building Android Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript   2011/03/30 TonyLawrence
- A simpler way to build mobile apps using HTML, CSS and Javacript rather than C++ coding. -

Google Analytics  
- I was happy to find this, if for no other reason than it introduced me to the author's Analytics Talk blog, which I was not previously aware of. -

iPad Application Development For Dummies  
- Very good explanation of iPhone/iPad SDK development nuts and bolts -

Xcode 3 Unleashed  
- Knowing Xcode is definitely part of knowing the SDK: Yeah, well that worked - sort of. You can just wander in and use Xcode without really knowing all that much about it. However, you'll probably miss things that can really add to your productivity. -

Beginning iPhone 3 Development  
- I liked this because it dove right in to things I need to know about the iPhone SDK -

The iPhone Developers Cookbook  
- This book helped clear some confusion about the iPhone SDK: This title was mentioned frequently when I was looking for good books to get me started with iPhone/iPad programming. There were a few negative comments - one particular jibe from a college professor was especially cutting. He's probably one who gets all snitty if a students indentation style doesn't match his own, so I ignored that. -

The Art of Assembly Language - 2d Edition  
- This is why I never get anything done. I had my whole week carefully laid out in front of me and then No Starch Press sent me a review copy of Randall Hyde's Art of Assembly Language (2d Edition). -

Budgeting with Mint.com   2010/02/25 TonyLawrence
- Mint is a financial tracking and monitoring tool. I used it for a few months and was both surprised and disappointed by my spending. -

Friends with Benefits  
- Excellent book on social media marketing: Aaargh! OK, I'll read the damn thing, I thought. Maybe there's enough fodder here for a scathing review - tear the skin right off the authors and roast them on a spit! That'll teach that publisher not to send me junk when I don't want it. I sat myself down on the couch and started reading. -

The Art of SEO   2010/09/08 TonyLawrence
- I hope this book helps put an end to ridiculously priced SEO courses. It could also help eliminate some of the shadier practitioners of SEO, but I'd be happy if it just helps a few people avoid wasting money on nonsense. -

Network Know-How  
- This is the book I'd give to someone who needed to learn a lot about computer networks, quickly. -

Googled: The End of the World As We Know It  
- The effect of Google upon society and business isn't neglected. All of this is looked at deeply. What does Google mean to other companies? What does Google's growth mean to itself? -

Take Control of Mac OS X Backups  
- Although there is OS X specific material, this is actually good for any OS, not only Mac. -

Windows 7 Secrets  
- This begins by calling those who dumped on Vista know-nothings and clowns - no bias there! -

Aquasana Premium Under Counter Drinking System  
- We bought this Aquasana under sink water filter and have been very happy. Easy installation, easy maintenance. -

Keurig B-60 for the Home Office   2010/05/31 TonyLawrence
- I have been eying Keurig Single Cup coffee makers for some time now. -

The Myths of Security  
- I think this is easily the most entertaining security book I've ever read. John has a sense of humor and strong opinions. Combine that with a lifetime of experience in computer security and you get a fun read. -

Unscientific America   2013/06/29 paul
- I felt that both of these were strongly biased, exhibited obvious prejudice and were also very shallow and unstatisfying. -

The Looting of America  
- This book attempts to explain our economic problems primarily by using the analogy of fantasy baseball -

Firefox 3.5 out soon  
- Can't live with it, can't live without it this is an old review and is only here for historical purpose. -

Voila  
- OS X screen capture utility similar to Skitch or Jing. Not only is it not free, it's not cheap. -

CompTIA Network+ Study Guide  
- If you are trying to prepare for the CompTIA Network+ certification exam, or are even just wanting to learn networking from the ground up, this is your book. -

FairShare content usage   2013/06/23 TonyLawrence
- The ad usage is what FairShare is ultimately after: they want to convince adnetworks like Google et al. to pay some percentage of earnings back to the owner of the content -

Microlite BackupEDGE 2.03  
- It's not easy to put together a backup andrecovery package as complete as BackupEDGE -

Stopping Identity Theft  
- I am constantly being pitched Identify Theft Protection by my credit card company, my bank and of course on TV. -

One in a Hundred Million  
- I'm reviewing this as a business book even though it was writtenas an autobiography. -

Take Control of Running Windows on a Mac  
- This technology lets me support customers who run operating systems I don't use, lets me test scripts and programs on different platforms and lets me stay current with operating system knowledge. -

I'll Make You an Offer You Can't Refuse  
- Michael Franzese, a former Mob boss, contrasts the advice of Machiavelli and Solomon while throwing in a little mob history and anecdotes and relates all of that to general business advice. -

Corel Painter 11  
- Way back in 1991 I bought a Microsoft Bus Mouse. I had never had a machine with a mouse before that (although I had used mice on some customers machines). It seems kind of funny now to think of a time without mice, but really I had no compelling reason to buy it. -

Smart Power Strips  
- These thing sare able to sense low power draws and shut off - the supposed advantage is to avoid the so called vampire devices like instant-on TV's and the little black plugs that power so many things like cell phone chargers and so on -

Learning PERL the Hard Way  
- I was interested in the printed version of this book because it is done by a Print On Demand outfit -

 
 
Samepage - Redefining how people create and share information
 
 
Cheap LED Bulbs   2010/10/19 BillMcK
- I was looking to use these inside. I put them in a lamp near my wife's computer. This wasn't done without some convincing: my wife is very fussy about her lighting. However, like me she's cheap, so the prospect of replacing 40 wattbulbs with 1.5 watts attracted her enough to at least give it a trial run. -

Boxee  
- I'm sorry, but knowing that you and five million other idiots watched the video of the pig on skates is not high on my priority list. It's not even ON my priority list! -

WordPress Plugin Development  
- Learning Wordpress basic plugin coding : Let me be straight up on this: I'm NOT a big WordPress fan. Nobody would ever forget to include the word "mess" when searching for appropriate adjectives to describe WordPress. -

Book Review: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Second Edition)  
- learning objective c programming for mac os x and iphone: I have to wonder how much of its intended audience will be reading much of this part either. I can't think too many people with no prior exposure to object oriented C are going to pick this up for their first venture into Mac OS X programming. More likely they'll come from a background even deeper and stronger than mine and will be skimming through the first 300 pages even faster than I did: classes, check - good analogies, not over drawn, basic types, check, inheritance, polymorphism, check, check.. let's get to the OS X stuff! -

Multitech RF850 Linux Router  
- Multitech RF850 is a linux based router that is no longer manufactured. If you come across one, here's what you need to know. -

Programming Principles and Practice Using C++  
- This is a "beginners" programming book for C++. It's about 1200 pages, and that alone probably made its first editors wince. -

Using Jing for support  
- Jing Add visuals to your online conversations record sessions -

Review: Bait and Switch  
- A disturbing portrait of white collar unemployment, review of Barbara Ehrenreich's Bait and Switch -

Lego Mindstorms NXT One-Kit Wonders  
- Lego Mindstorms NXT One-Kit Wonders is an expensive toy or an inexpensive robotics kit - however you want to see it. -



More Reviews articles
















Have you tried our Tests?